What is the “(#)GIRLBOSS” hubbub all about?

SimoneAnne-1834

 

When I heard about Sophia Amoruso’s book #GIRLBOSS (can’t forget the hashtag!), I wondered what the thrill was. Yes, according to a Google search, she took an Ebay business and turned it into a thriving, multi-million dollar company, Nasty Gal.

Then, with a title as GIRLBOSS (one word for hashtag friendliness), it started a movement. Every girl is a GIRLBOSS. There is something about that word, that title that rubs me kinda wonky. Maybe it’s the “girl” part? I keep imagining girls wearing bad mobster Halloween costumes, with dreams of running thriving businesses while showcasing obviously planned social moments on Instagram. Just, no.

Or, as to speak Internet, I just can’t even.

Also the use of “girl” diminishes the power. Could that be it? Yes, there seems to be an increase of lovely ladies out there making a go at being their own boss. I did it, continue to do it, but I don’t give myself a title. I just want to fucking do it, because I don’t like making money for other people.

I don’t get off on rags-to-riches stories either. I could tell you about my life, my upbringing, the downfalls, the tears and the heartbreaks, the disappointments and the triumphs that made me WHO I AM TODAY (and sprinkle in some sincere gratitude), but I won’t. Business is hard. There is a lot of blood, sweat, tears, nerves, alcohol, hair-pulling, caffeine, prescription anxiety pills and breakdowns to get noticed. There is no formula to getting “it” right, what “it” is that you’re doing. As I’ve said before, creating and running a business is a constant cycle of improvement that requires your own common sense and observation to shape into your own success.

 

Have you read #GIRLBOSS? What do you think?

 

 

Image from Death to the Stock Photo

Leave a Reply

