Road Trip Wednesday #189 Be sure to wear some flowers in your hair

Jason Weyerman

Jason Weyerman

What song would you love to see a book based on?

I’m not quite sure if there are any great YA novels that are set in the 1960’s, but I do think a book based on Scott McKenzie’s “If You’re Going to San Francisco” would be perfect.

Oh, if any of you do know of a mid-century set YA novel, please do let me know! Thanks in advance.

I’ve been romanticizing a lot. Currently, if I could go back in time, it would be the 1960’s. Nothing gets my heart aflutter than garage and surf. I love the rawness and natural sound of an analog recording, where the bands most likely performed in one room, all instruments miked and ready to go. No autotune, no added production, no punch-in’s. It’s the way the band sounds live, so why add anything different that can’t be done on stage?

Anyway, let’s head to Northern California. Of course, my affections lie south in the LA area, Scott McKenzie’s hit has my imagination conjuring up images of flowery dresses, long hair, Haight-Ashbury, free love, anti-Vietnam, etc.

There was that excellent miniseries called “The 60’s” from 1999. You know, the one that starred Julia Stiles and Jerry O’Connell? I think taking a character or two (perhaps male and female POV’s, or maybe different races or socioeconomic backgrounds) would be a great idea for a historical young adult fiction piece.

What do you think? Did you blog this week’s YA Highway post? What dong would you turn into a book?

 

Leave a Reply

