Frugal detoxing

1421738_56683347 I took on a family challenge this week. Everyone ordered a cleanse/supplement kit to complete a 7-day detox. I, the frugal one decided to take on the challenge by designing a detox of my own, without the heavy cost of a pre-made kit. I figure I can do myself some good after the last couple of weeks performing a circuit around fast food places for cheap deals and the use of free item coupons (hey, what’s a gal to do when funds are low?)

Armed with my vitamins (I take magnesium, fish oil, vitamins A, D, and E as well as a few herbal supplements daily) and my tea arsenal, all I needed was the boost up my fruits and vegetable cache. (Note: I was lucky enough to find a bottle herbal cleansing supplements at Vitamin World at a “get it out of here” price–it is packed with psyllium husk, apple and citrus pectins, marshmallow, dandelion–most of these are in those pre-packed supplement kits).

Fortunately, summer means Farmer’s Market season, and that means decently-priced produce. Also, thanks to bottle redemption tickets, I managed to score my food.

I have heard from others that days three and five are tricky. Today, I start day 3 and I’m feeling great. I woke up, had my warm lemon water, a glass of Celestial Seasonings Detox A.M. tea, some fruit and I’m full. It’s almost lunch time and I’m not feeling the urge to eat. My sinuses feel clear and I noticed the pressure headaches have not shown up.

So, how am I cleansing? (Note: this is my method. I am not a doctor, nutritionist or dietician.)

Each morning

  • Glass of warm water with 1 TBSP of lemon juice
  • A banana (potassium is key during a cleanse)
  • My daily rundown of vitamins, minerals and herbs
  • Cup of Celestial Seasonings A.M. Detox tea
  • 16 oz. water

Mid-morning

  • 16 oz. water
  • Vegetables
  • Half of a protein shake

Lunch

  • 16 oz. water
  • Fruit and veg
  • Unsweetened herbal tea

Afternoon

  • 16 oz. water
  • vegetables
  • remaining half of protein shake

Dinner

  • 16 oz. water
  • Fruit and veg
  • Unsweetened herbal tea

It looks pretty easy, except you do get bored with just eating fruits and vegetables. Then it is time to get creative. I started researching raw-food recipes and started developing my own.

Vegetable Dip–ONE avocado, tomatoes, cilantro and lime juice. Its like guacamole, but without the oil.

Pineapple “Gazpacho”–pineapple, 1-2 carrots (or maybe a handful of baby-cut), one jalapeno, and a medium cucumber. Toss into a blender and go.

Wraps–Napa cabbage or romaine leaves wrapped around shredded carrots, peppers and tomatoes. Drizzle a bit of veg dip (above!) before rolling it up.

So Day 3 is a go right now. Four more to go. Four more to get creative.

Sooooo, have you ever done a cleanse?

4 thoughts on “Frugal detoxing

  1. I haven’t read much on detox diets that was positive; especially ones you have to buy. I find eating healthy, real food to be the way to go. I lost a lot of weight and kept it off when I cut out nearly everything processed and stuck to foods like whole milk, eggs, lean meats, fruits, vegetables, etc.

    Good luck on the challenge though!

    • Thanks, Jay. I’m usually skeptical about anything you have to buy, that’s why I wanted to attempt a simple method of eating clean without the expensive ordering of pre-sorted supplements and powder mixes. Day 3 has come to a close and we are all feeling slightly exhausted (lack of protein). I am feeling some muscle fatigue, which does tell me I do need to implement MORE protein. I’m also pretty sure I’m losing the vitamins I’m putting in. Days 4-7 are going to be a little different.

  2. Pingback: After the Detox |

Leave a Reply

