Do you need to run with the bulls to be an excellent writer?

Am I the only one who has a romanticized view of carrying on a “writer’s life?” You know what I mean, traveling throughout Europe, people watching in cafes, dancing all night in smoky clubs, drinking Absinthe and being a happy little bed hopper.

I do. I can’t help it. There’s something whimsical about world travel, lazing away over paper, pen (I’m going with an analog theme in my fantast, okay?) and an espresso while sitting outside of a café.

Of course, we aren’t Hemingway, Plath, Fitzgerald or any notable writer or poet from the past who lived lives of questionable mental illness, sexuality or decadence. Perhaps, it was a sign of the times. We had world wars, European travel was a pastime for the rich and elite…if we were to ask writers of that time, did they live this way to spawn words, what would they say?

What I’m trying to get at is, what fuels writing?

I love telling a story. I base much of the human dynamic from what I read or happen to catch on TV. I recall some of my past experiences, which from adolescence to the present is an era of clubs, rock ‘n’ roll shows, bottles in paper bags, rotating groups of friends, late nights and gross couches in apartments. Those details, smells and memories create the scenes of my book. In fact, they are probably moments of time not everyone has experienced before and may make for a great scene, and maybe it may be appealing to the reader. I did not intend to go out and live crazily or dangerously. That is just what I did since high school.

As a writer, is there a need to live in order to write what a character experiences?

Traveling to another area to detail the temperature, landscape and native meals should not have to be necessary. If that is the case, the why is the story being written about a place the writer does not know about? I am a firm believer in the write-what-you-know idea to create a believable story.

A passport full of stamps, multiple framed degrees, marriage, kids…let these be the experiences to create writing, not the catalyst to start writing.

 

What is your point of influence for writing? Live to write or write to live?

 

Leave a Reply

