YA Highway’s Road Trip Wednesday #156

Many writers are in the midst of NaNoWriMo this month. I decided to forgo it this year, what with the business and all. To keep my writing fresh, I’ve decided to blog more, letting those spurts of inspiration out until I find larger blocks of time to write. That little monkey does not like to jump off my back!

This Week’s Topic is: Tons of writers are in the midst of NaNoWriMo, trying to stay inspired as we reach the dreaded middle. Share your most inspiring and/or motivational video, book, or quote on writing!

20121114-235722.jpg

I am fueled my motivation. Moving, writing, thinking, doing is something I’m completely content with. Call me a workaholic, call me what you want, I’m constantly moving. When I’m still or without something to do, ohhhh boy….

I tend to recite this quote all the time to myself. It is my mantra. Whether its writing or finishing that cake before the customer arrives and I am completely rushed for time. Winston Churchill, a man of many quotes, a lifestyle I semi-agree with…a man after my own heart. I’ll drink to that.

King Dork was the book that finally got me to push myself to the finish. Witty and cleverly Frank Portman delivered a fine piece of literary work that is on par with the cleverness of his band The Mr. T Experience.

Below that is a quote from Francesca Lia Block’s Weetzie Bat, one of my favorite books from one of my favorite authors. I wish I had a wardrobe like Weetzie’s and my “punkrock” was as cool as hers. Come on, late 80’s Los Angeles? On each page, you can smell the smog, feel the Hollywood Hills dew under your feet, see the glitter of fame and feel the ghosts of Hollywood’s passed-on legends.

The Ramones. They inspired many bands to continue the fast-paced 1-2-3-4 bubblegum-meets-punk style that the Queers and Screeching Weasel have perfected a form since those CBGB days. The Ramones, fueled my writing. My characters love these leather-clad New Yorkers.

Rochester. I’ve lived near it, moved to it, own a business in it. I have a love/hate with it, sometimes wishing to move away, sometimes not. It is where my “chosen” family resides, the bars I swilled drinks at and caught a show, the houses that could tell stories of parties, couches where I have found myself the next morning and of course, the setting of my writing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

