It all started with a song

When I started to write Flour City Blues, I listened to a lot of music while I was busy at work. Honestly, working in silence drives me crazy, so throwing up an iTunes playlist that I can tune out the world with helped create the story. The one song that JUST STUCK OUT during the whole process was The Methadones’ “Say Goodbye to Your Generation.” I knew the heroes in my book would be just as proud if they were real people. It meant many things to me, this was senior year to these characters, and this seemed to be a rarity…and end of a generation that could possibly hold any interest in ROCK ‘N’ ROLL and the grittiness of it. Teen culture is so technologically advanced with internet memes, a Bieber kid and some song asking to “call me maybe.” I wanted that we-practice-in-a-garage, still worship the vinyl record, torn jeans, girl crazy, perverseness of rock ‘n’ roll and I think I captured it well. My mission was to break away from the private school elite, vampires and werewolves and just bring back a sense of reality that a teenager could relate to and maybe find inspiration.

I was beyond excited to actually ask Dan Schafer (Vapid as you all know) about using the lyrics as an epigraph. Of course, who would not be excited to see their lyrics used in a book?

 

To promote the book, I had also used the song for the book’s trailer. I debated on the idea of a trailer, quickly went against it, then somehow found myself on iMovie for a couple hours completing the project with some random footage of The Queers, Ataris, Far From Finished, local boys The Emersons and Anderson Stingrays.

 

What do you think?

 

Leave a Reply

